Skip to main content

My Experience With the Moto 360 Sport and Android Wear.

It all started about 4 months ago, when I decided to get an android wear Smartwatch that would get Android Wear 2.0. I like to believe that I have a sporty lifestyle as I ride my bike from and to work almost everyday and I go to the gym 5-6 days a  week, as a self proclaimed sporty person, I decided to get the Moto 360 Sport as, it would fit my 2 criteria, sporty looking as well as it will get the Android Wear 2.0 update at some point.

The good:

It was easy to pair as well as I never missed a notification, neither when I was biking, at the gym or gaming.

The battery tent to last the entire day, I’ve got no problem charging it every day, I mean I do it with my phone and is one next to each other.

Having my play music account on the watch meant that I was able to listen to music from it when I connected my Jaybirds freedom sprints, even when I left my phone for a ride.

IP67 Water and Dust resistance.meant that I was able to get wet, swat a lot and pay no mind to the watch and water/sweat.

Having the notifications on my wrist meant that I was able to read and filter all the important notifications without having to pull out my phone.

The Bad

The Bad is basically all related to the Moto 360 Sport and I have no complains with the Android Wear software.

No speaker on the watch, meant that I was not able to take a call from in, when my phone was in my backpack and I didn’t have my headphones on me or they have had died because I forgot to charge them, meant that I was unable to speak with whoever was on the line.

No third party wrist band support as the band itself is part of the watch.

Charging cradle is bulky and for a Sporty watch it's uncomfortable to carry around.

In the end, something happened with the watch and it failed about 4 month into the use of the thing, and because I am not located in the United States they refused to replace it for me, stating that the POP provided from Amazon was not valid as it didn’t show the S/N.

So in conclusion the only real bad thing about the Moto 360 Sport is the OEM as they refuse to stand by their product and validate the warranty.

Note: As of the time of writing, the Moto 360 Sport have not being updated to Android wear 2.0


Comments